I want my mind back

I want my mind back.

I want my mind back
I’m not sure where it’s gone,
it’s rather old, seen better days.
from childhood dreams thru’ purple haze
to dizzy love and death’s cold stare.

I want my mind back
so I can make it up.
I’m sure I’d made a decision
to be kinder to it,
to call a truce, sue for peace.

I want my mind back,
without it life floats about
unsure and detached,
like a leaf on the road
at the mercy of random swirls.

I want my mind back,
so I can pick my paths
from damaged choices.
Without it I’m on tow
pulled by hidden forces.

I want my mind back,
it holds important stuff.
Grey merges definition,
life’s constant crossword
defeats me without it.

I want my mind back,
I wish I could remember what to do,
how to drop anchor,
how to be still,
till’ it finds its way home.

I want my mind back.

Written by Francis de Aguilar©.

Leave a Reply

