I have learned a lot.

I have learned a lot.

 

I have learned that

Parents are often helpless

Abusing unknowingly

Sowing damage blindly.

 

I have learned that

Children are as clay

In the world they live in

Modelled by circumstance.

 

I have learned that

Whenever I desire,

I cannot be sure why

I want what I want.

 

I have learned that

Most of the satisfaction

I have had in my life

Has been an attempt to mend myself

 

I have learned that

My generosity is suspect

Often more about me

Than about the receiver.

 

I have learned that

What I believe happiness is,

Is probably not going to work,

I cannot have the love I missed.

 

I have learned that

I am a good man,

But to know and not do,

Is to not know.

 

I have learned that

I have always known this,

But remained helpless

To offer myself love.

 

I have learned that

All I, or anyone ever does

Is to care for themselves

The best way they know how.

 

I have learned that

Judgement is at once

Ridiculous, inevitable

Essential and worthless

 

I have learned that

Intuition is a troubling

And treacherous friend

But a friend nevertheless.

 

I have learned that

Relationships are hard.

 

I have learned that

The only things worth learning

Are to be found inside me

Yet I rarely study there.

 

I have learned that

98% of what I have learned

Has been in the service of

Avoiding the 2% I need most.

 

I have learned that

That I have a lot to learn.

 

Written by Francis de AguilarĀ©2014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. Really profound and so so true. We don’t often think about what we have learned and what it all alludes to. You are a master at your craft and I enjoy your writing a lot. It speaks to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

