I am pleased to announce

I am pleased to announce.

I am pleased to announce

That I no longer experience depression
as I have no place to fall from.
There’s a lot to be said for the floor,
you know where you are.

I am pleased to announce.

That my heart can no longer be broken
as I have no capacity for love;
it’s like a toothpaste tube torn open,
every last morsel squeezed and used.

I am pleased to announce.

That I have no more need of learning
having found that the more I learned
the harder my life became.
I am now busy unlearning.

I am pleased to announce.

That I do not desire to view my cup as half full,
or indeed half empty.
I am; however, mildly curious
as to what’s in it.

I am pleased to announce.

That I no longer try to get laid
I have memories of delicious disasters aplenty
and recently the whole thing has been a disappointment.
On the whole I have been lucky, lets keep it that way.

I am pleased to announce.

That matters of health are largely academic.
I would rather not feel young enough
to start things I am too old to finish,
I find my self suitably ill.

I am pleased to announce

That I have no desire to achieve anything
this is a great freedom.
The only thing worth achieving is kindness
and passing this on to your children.

I am pleased to announce.

That I’m not disappointed with this state of affairs
despite the invasion of societal rules on my psyche.
I find they do stand much scrutiny, and so
I begin to find peace, and look forward to more.

Written by Francis de Aguilar©2014.

Leave a Reply

